The purpose of this pamphlet is to inform the prospective vehicle dealer applicant of the requirements to obtain
a license from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and provides detailed information and instructions in
completing and submitting your application.
HOW TO USE THIS PAMPHLET
We have tried to arrange this book in much the same order you should follow in establishing your business. In
addition, to assist you, we’ve created check lists (New Dealer Application, OL 249A or Used Dealer and Autobroker,
OL 249B or Dealer-Wholesale Only, OL 248C) listing the items required when submitting your application to the
department. These check lists may be downloaded from our website at www.dmv.ca.gov.
DMV ADVISORY STATEMENT
The information required on the attached forms pertain to eligibility for issuance of an occupational license. It is
required under authority of Division 5 of the California Vehicle Code. Failure to provide the information is cause for
refusal to issue an occupational license.
Application information is public record, regularly used by law enforcement agencies, and is open to inspection by
the public. Some information contained in these records is classiied as conidential or personal pursuant to the
Information Practices Act of 1977 and the Public Records Act and is exempt from disclosure. Individuals are entitled
to inspect or obtain copies of information contained in their record during regular office hours.
The Deputy Director of the Licensing Operations Division,
2570 24th Street, Sacramento, CA. 95818,
for maintaining record information.
Section 285 of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) deines a dealer who:
(a) For commission, money, or other thing of value, sells, exchanges, buys or offers for sale, negotiates or attempts
to negotiate, a sale or exchange of an interest in a vehicle subject to registration or a motorcycle, snowmobile,
subject to identiication under this code, or induces or attempts to induce any person to buy or exchange an
interest in a vehicle and, who receives or expects to receive a commission, money brokerage fees, proit, or any
other thing of value, from either the seller or purchaser of said vehicle; or
(b) Is engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling vehicles or buying or taking in trade, vehicles for the
purpose of resale, selling, or offering for sale, or consigned to be sold, or otherwise dealing in vehicles, whether
or not such vehicles are owned by the person.
A background investigation is conducted on all applicants and disclosure of a conviction may result in a temporary
operating permit not being issued.
Failure to disclose any and all convictions may result in the refusal, denial, or revocation of your license.
Pursuant to CVC Section 11703, the department may refuse to issue a license to any applicant who has been
convicted of a crime or committed any act or engaged in any conduct involving moral turpitude which is substantially
related to the qualiications, functions, or duties of the licensed activity.
A plea of nolo contendere is a conviction within the meaning of this section. In addition, Article 4 and Article 6.1
of Title 13, of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) provide guidelines used by the department in determining
whether a license should be issued.
THE FEE SCHEDULE IS:
$175.00 Nonrefundable original application fee.
$ 1.00 Family Support Program fee.
$100.00 Autobroker (plus original application fee).
$ 70.00 For each branch location (if applicable).
$225.00 New Motor Vehicle Board Fee
Required for new auto-commercial and motorcycle dealers, all-terrain vehicle, motorhome, and
recreational trailer dealers only per location.
$ 70.00 For each dealer plate (plus county fees, if applicable).*
$ 72.00 For each motorcycle plate (plus county fees, if applicable).*
* This figure will vary depending on the county where your business is located. Contact your Inspector for the total
plate fee due for your location.
NOTE: Plates are optional, not mandatory.
Applicants with convictions, prior departmental actions, business bankruptcies, and/or outstanding
civil judgements related to the automobile industry, must file an Abbreviated Application.
A VEHICLE DEALER APPLICATION CONSISTS OF THE FOLLOWING FORMS:
• OL 248A New Dealer Application Check List OR
OL 248B Used Dealer, Dealer-Wholesale Only, and Autobroker Application Check List
• OL 12 Application for Original Occupational License, (Part C)
• OL 21A Original Application for Occupational License, (Part A)
• OL 25 Surety Bond of Dealer ($50,000) OR
OL 25B Surety Bond of Motorcycle Dealer, Motorcycle Lessor-Retailer, All-Terrain Vehicle
Dealer, or Wholesale-Only Dealer (Less Than 25 Vehicles Per Year) $10,000
OL 65/OL 94 with Cash Bond
OL 64/OL65 with Passbook or Certiicate of Deposit
• OL 53 Authorization to Release Financial Information
• OL 124 Certiicate of Proposed Franchise
Required for new automobile, commercial, motorcycle, all- terrain vehicle, motorhome, and
recreational trailer dealers only.
• OL 902 Property Use Veriication for Vehicle Dealer’s License
• OL 29 Application for Occupational License Personal History Questionnaire, (Part B)
Required for each person listed under ownership on form OL 12.
• ADM 9050 Appointment of Director as Agent for Service of Process
• DMV 8016 Request for Live Scan Clearance (yellow copy).
Required for each person completing form OL 29. Details on page 9. Out-of-state applicants
call Occupational Licensing at (916) 229-3126 for Fingerprint Card (ADM 1316).
THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS ARE ALSO REQUIRED AS PART OF THE APPLICATION PACKAGE:
• Used Vehicle Dealer or Dealer Wholesale-Only license only
− The original Certiicate of Completion issued by a dealer education program provider
− Proof of successfully passing the Used Dealer Test administered by DMV
• Corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Limited Liability Partnership Owned Businesses Only
A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Minutes, or other document iled with the Secretary of State
which identiies the officers, share holders and managers, if iling as a Corporation, Limited Liability Company or
Limited Liability Partnership owned business only.
• Copy of your Fictitious Name Statement
Any business that operates under a name not the actual name of the owner is required to obtain a Fictitious
Name Statement from the city or county in the area where your business is located. If the responsible agency
determines this is not required, a letter supporting such from that agency is needed.
• Copy of lease or rental agreement
• Copy of Your City and/or County Business License
Applicants are required to obtain a city or county business license by the city or county licensing section in the
area where your business is located.
• Copy of Board of Equalization Resale Permit
All applicants are required to file an application for a Seller’s Permit. The purpose of the permit is to enable the
licensee to collect taxes on sales. A dealer-wholesale only does not collect taxes but is required to file quarterly
reports. Applications can be made through local State Board of Equalization offices.
• Photograph(s) of Business Location
• Letter of Authorization
Required for new trailer dealers only. The letters of authorization must be on the issuing manufacturers,
distributors, or remanufacturers letterhead and must show either the business or corporate name and address
of the irm exactly as it appears on the application. A letter of authorization is required for each make being sold.
NOTE: Incomplete applications will be returned.
THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF DEALERS LICENSES:
TYPE LICENSE AUTHORIZED TO:
Sell new/used automobiles and trucks to the public and licensed vehicle
Sell used automobiles and trucks to the public and licensed vehicle dealers.
Sell to licensed vehicle dealers only.
Provide the service of arranging, negotiating, assisting, or effectuating, for a
fee or compensation, the purchase of a new or used vehicle, not owned by
the dealer, for a person(s).
The type of dealers license you are applying for will determine your location requirements.
TYPE LICENSE Property Use Office Sign Display Area
New/Used A/C • • • •
Used A/C • • • •
Wholesale Only • •
Autobroker • • •
• Property Use Verification
− Your business location must be in an area appropriate for the type of business you wish to conduct. Before
signing a lease or rental agreement, check with the agency responsible for completing the Property Use
Veriication for Vehicle Dealers License (OL 902) to ensure appropriate property use.
− Your office must be devoted exclusively for the use of your business with entry directly from the outside.Your
office must have a telephone, desk, and a filing cabinet.
− All books and records pertinent to the business must be maintained at the office (320(b) CVC).
− Not less than 2 square feet (11709(a) CVC).
− Readable from a distance of at least 50 feet (11709(a) CVC).
− Provide information as to the dealer’s name and address (11709(a) CVC).
− Permanent in nature, able to withstand weather conditions, and erected on the exterior of the office
(408.00 CA Code of Regulations).
• Display Area
− Must be situated on the same property.
− Must be of a sufficient size to physically accommodate vehicle(s) of a type for which the dealership is
licensed to sell (409.00 CA Code of Regulations).
− Additional display areas are permitted (display only, exclusive use, and sales are not permitted) within a
radius of 1,000 feet from the principal place of business and any licensed branch location without being
subject to separate licensing (409.00(a) CA Code of Regulations).
IMPORTANT NOTE: The department will perform on site inspections to confirm the contents of photographs.
Submission of fraudulent application form(s) and/or photograph(s) is grounds to refuse to issue this and any
− Photographs must be clear enough to ensure compliance with requirements.
− Each photograph must be dated and signed.
− Photograph must be attached to a sheet of paper, labeled and numbered according to directions below.
TYPE LICENSE Office Location Sign Display Area
Wholesale Only • •
New Vehicle Dealer • • • •
Used Vehicle Dealer • • • •
Autobroker (no retail) • • •
DIRECTIONS FOR PHOTOGRAPH REQUIREMENTS
− Photographs must clearly show an office set up to perform the duties required by the license type, including
adequate secure storage for accountable materials and records.
− Photograph(s) of the office entrance, which includes the office address from the outside of the building.
(NOTE: See directions under sign for further directions if the address is not affixed near the office entrance
or to the exterior of the building.)
− If the office entrance is not directly accessible from the exterior, then a photograph from the corridor showing
the direct entrance is also required.
• Office Use
− Exclusive Office Use: A full photograph from the entrance to the back wall which includes both side walls.
Option: Two or more photographs that can be placed together covering the entire office area.
− Non-Exclusive Office Use: Businesses involving vehicles or their component parts must be conducted
separate from other types of businesses. Provide photographs that clearly show the physical division
between businesses involving vehicles or their component parts, (1670 CVC).
• Books and Records
− Photograph(s) of where the books and records pertinent to the type of business being conducted are kept
− Photograph(s) must clearly show a sign permanently affixed to the exterior of the building, visible from a
distance of fifty (50) feet. If the address is not visible on the exterior of the building, then it must appear on
− Sign From Fifty (50) Feet:
A photograph of the sign from a distance of fifty (50) feet is required.
− Sign From Property Entrance:
A photograph of the sign from the nearest public entrance to the property.
• Display Area
− Photograph(s) must clearly show an area large enough for the type of vehicle(s) for sale and must be for the
exclusive use of the licensee.
− Photographs of the complete display area.
− Photograph(s) that shows the proximity of the display area(s) to the office. If the display area is not in the
immediate vicinity of the office, another permanently installed sign is required to identify the business name
and office address.
− Photograph(s) that includes display area sign(s). If utilizing designated parking spaces, a sign must be
permanently installed designating the spaces for the exclusive use of the licensee (business name). A copy
of a contract or lease agreement for the spaces must be included with the application.
− Licensees with minimal license requirements must submit a photograph that clearly shows the place of
business (exterior of building and/or property), posted business name sign and area for licensed activity.
All application forms must be neatly printed in blue or black ink or typed.To be acceptable, they must be free from
strikeouts, whiteout (luid or tape), or corrections. All information requested must be complete and accurate.
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE VEHICLE DEALER APPLICATION:
Application for Original Occupational License, (Part C), OL 12
A. Ownership Information:
Enter the true full name(s), title, and Date of Birth of:
− The individual.
− Each partner (designate whether general or limited).
− Each principal officer and director, or stockholder of the corporation participating in the direction, control
and management of the policy of the business.
− Each member and manager of the Limited Liability Company participating in the direction, control and
management of the policy of the business.
− Each member of the Association participating in the direction control and management of the
Complete Section 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 depending on whether the ownership of the firm is an individual, partnership,
corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Association.
Original Application for Occupational License, (Part A), OL 21A
A. Firm Information: Check the box of the type license you are applying for. If applying for dealer, select
category and mark appropriate box for Autobroker.
B. Main Office: Enter the full name(s) of the individual, partners, Corporation, Limited Liability Company or
Firm Name: Enter your business name.
Firm Address, City, State, Zip Code: Enter your business address, city, state, and zip code
Area Code/Telephone Number: Enter your business area code and telephone number.
C. Check the Vehicles to be Sold, Manufactured or Distributed at This Location:
Check the appropriate
boxes for the type(s) of vehicles you will be selling.
D. Plate(s) Request: Enter the number of plates desired.
E. For Dismantler Only: N/A
F. For Manufacturer or Remanufacturer Only: N/A
G. Financial Institution Business Account Information:
Enter the name of the bank where business account is carried, the bank’s address, area code and telephone
Account Number: Enter the business account number.
Name of person authorized to draw funds or issue checks from account. Enter the name(s) of person(s)
authorized to draw funds or write checks from the account.
If bank account is not carried under same name as shown on this application, under what name is it
carried? Enter the name the account is carried under if not the same as your business.
H. Property Use Approval: Check the appropriate box, indicating whether your dealership’s location meets
property use requirements by either the city or the county.
I. Property Data: Check the appropriate box if the property is leased, rented, or owned.
Lease or Rental Period: Enter the lease or rental period.
Approximate Square Feet: Complete the size of the property in square feet.
If the property is leased or rented, complete the following: Enter the property owner’s full name, address,
city and telephone number.
Area Code/Telephone Number: Enter your business area code and telephone number.
J. Applicant Certiication: The person who signed the Application for Original Occupational License Part C, OL
12, must complete the certiication on this form.
Surety Bond Options
Applicants must submit one of the following:
• Surety Bond of Dealer, OL 25 ($50,000).
• Surety Bond of Motorcycle Dealer, Motorcycle Lessor-Retailer, All-Terrain Vehicle Dealer, or Wholesale-Only
Dealer (Less Than 25 Vehicles Per Year), OL 25B ($10,000).
• In lieu of one of the above surety bond forms, the following deposits (see NOTICE) may be accepted:
− Cash (forms OL 65 and OL 94).
− A passbook account assigned to DMV (forms OL 64 and OL 65).
− A certiicate of deposit made payable to DMV (form OL 65).
NOTICE: Pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 11710.2, the director may order the deposit returned at the
expiration of any of the following dates:
− Three (3) years from the date a licensee has ceased to do business. (Close of business must be reported
to DMV Inspector.)
− Three (3) years from the date a licensee has ceased to be licensed, if the director is satisied that there
are no outstanding claims against the deposit.
− Five (5) years from the date a licensee has secured and maintained a dealer bond (on a form speciied
above), and the director is satisied that there are no outstanding claims against the deposit.
− A judge of a superior court may order the return of the deposit prior to the expiration of the dates provided
upon evidence satisfactory to the judge that there are no outstanding claims against the deposit.
If you obtain a Surety Bond, it must be completed as follows:
• Sole owner
− Individual name and DBA firm name.
− Names of all partners and DBA firm name.
− Corporate name and DBA; or
− Corporate name only if DBA is the same.
• Limited Liability Company
− Limited Liability Company name and DBA; or
− Limited Liability Company name only if DBA is the same.
− Association name and DBA; or
− Association name only if DBA is the same.
To be acceptable, the Surety Bond must:
• Be signed by the surety company.
Authorization to Release Financial Information, OL 53
1. Licensee Name: Enter your name. First, middle, last and your business name.
2. Firm Name: Enter the name of your business.
3. Financial Institution: Enter the name of the bank where business account is carried.
4. Signed: Sign your name.
5. Title: Enter your title.
6. Date: Date the application.
This form must be signed by a sole owner, all partners, a corporate officer, Limited Liability Company member/
manager, or Association member.
Certiicate of Proposed Franchise, OL 124
Required of new automobile, commercial, motorcycle, all-terrain vehicle, motorhome, and recreational trailer dealers
only. The OL 124 must be signed by a person on the ownership structure of the licensed manufacturer or distributor,
or by a licensed representative of the manufacturer or distributor. An OL 124 is required for each make being sold.
Property Use Veriication for Vehicle Dealers License, OL 902
This form is to be completed by an official of the agency responsible for zoning in your area and submitted with your
application for license to a Department Inspector.
Application For Occupational License, (Part B), Personal History Questionnaire, OL 29
The following individuals are required to complete personal history questionnaires and furnish a Request for Live
Scan Service receipt or Fingerprint Cards: 1) sole owners; 2) all partners; and 3) all individuals listed on the ownership
structure of the business.
A. Applicant Information
Name: Enter your name. Last, first, middle.
Business Area Code/Telephone Number: Enter the business area code and telephone number.
Residence address: Enter address, city, county and zip code.
Home Area Code/Telephone Number: Enter your home area code and telephone number.
Date of Birth, Sex, Color Hair, Eye Color, Height, and Weight.
Driver License/Identiication Number: Enter your Driver License/Identiication Number.
Issuing State: Enter the state that issued your Driver License/Identiication.
Expiration Date: Enter the expiration date of your Driver License/Identiication Number
Social Security Number: Enter your social security number.
B. Employment History for the Past Three Years: Begin with your most recent job. List each separately.
List your employment for the last three (3) years.
C. Education: List your education.
D. Background Information:
1. Have you ever been known by or used any name other than the name appearing on this questionnaire?
Answer yes or no. If yes, list name(s). Examples: Robert Joseph Smith, Robert J. Smith, Bob Smith
2. Have you previously been or are you now licensed or have you ever applied in this state as a vehicle
salesperson, representative, distributor, dealer, registration service, dismantler, manufacturer,
remanufacturer, transporter, vehicle veriier, lessor-retailer, driving school owner, operator, or
instructor, traffic violator school owner, operator or instructor or all-terrain vehicle safety training
organization or instructor? Answer yes or no. If yes, list license number: If you do not remember the
number, indicate so.
3. Have you ever had a business or occupational license issued by this department or an application for
such license refused, revoked, suspended or subjected to other disciplinary action or were you ever
a partner, managerial employee, officer, director, or stockholder in a firm licensed by this department,
and the license was revoked, suspended or subject to other disciplinary action? Answer yes or no. If
yes, list license number, type of license, action by department, and date of action.
4. Were you ever the holder of an occupational license issued by another state, authorizing the same
or similar activities of a license, and that license was revoked or suspended for cause and was never
reissued, or was suspended for cause, and the terms of suspension have not been fulilled? Answer
yes or no. If yes, describe type of license, list license number, and state license was issued.
5. Have you ever had a civil judgement rendered against you? Answer yes or no.
If yes, was it a result of your activity under an occupational license issued by this department?
Answer yes or no. If yes, state amount and whether paid or unpaid.
6. Were you ever a partner, managerial employee, officer, director, or stockholder in a firm that had a
civil judgement rendered against it? Answer yes or no. If yes, state amount and whether paid or unpaid.
7. Have you ever declared bankruptcy or were you ever a partner, managerial employee, officer, director,
or stockholder in a irm that declared bankruptcy? Answer yes or no. If yes, give date bankruptcy filed
and name and location of court of jurisdiction and indicate personal or business.
8. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending against you in any jurisdiction? Answer yes or
no. If yes, state the court, case number and the nature of the charges.
9. Answer questions 9(a) – (d).These questions relate to any disciplinary actions, dismissals, demotions,
adverse action from employment or involvement in any civil or administrative cases, etc. Answer yes
or no. If yes, provide details.
10. All Applicants: ( Excluding traffic offenses ) Have you ever been convicted, placed on probation,
or released from incarceration following conviction for any crime or offense, either Felony or
Misdemeanor, of any jurisdiction within the last ten (10) years. Answer yes or no. Include any conviction
where you were pardoned, pled nolo contendere, or where the conviction was expunged, dismissed, set
aside or removed from the record under Penal Code Section 1203.4.
Read the information in the IMPORTANT NOTICE box. Applicants Initials Required: Initial the form.
IMPORTANT NOTE: A background investigation is conducted on all applicants. Failure to disclose any/all
convictions may result in the refusal, denial, or revocation of your license.
E. Misdemeanor or Felony Convictions: List all convictions.
F. Applicant Certiication: Enter the city, state, and title.
Signature: Sign your name.
Date: Date the application.
Applicants with convictions, prior departmental actions, business bankruptcies, and/or outstanding
civil judgements related to the automobile industry, must file an Abbreviated Application.
Appointment of Director as Agent for Service or Process,ADM 9050
The Appointment of Director as Agent for Service or Process enables the service of legal process on the Director of
Motor Vehicles in the extended absence of the licensed principal. The Appointment of Director as Agent for Service
or Process must agree exactly with the wording on the application or it will be rejected. Required for each person
listed under ownership on OL 12.
Request for Live Scan Service, DMV 8016
Every person applying for an Occupational License must furnish a copy of their Request for Live Scan Service
receipt when submitting their application to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Live Scan is an inkless electronic ingerprinting process. The fingerprints are electronically transmitted to the
Department of Justice (DOJ) for completion of a criminal background check.
Contact your local Police Department, Sheriff’s Office, or District Education Office to determine the Live Scan site
nearest you.There are more than 130 facilities throughout the state and at least one in each county. Call in advance,
some locations are by appointment only. A photo ID will be required. A Live Scan list is available from DOJ’s Live
Scan internet address at http://ag.ca.gov/ingerprints/publications/contact.htm.
The live scan fingerprinting service fee varies. The cost to electronically fingerprint the applicant is determined by
the local live scan agency. According to DOJ, they can charge a fee sufficient to recover their costs. The $32 DOJ
criminal record check fee is also collected at the live scan site.
If you have been previously licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles, Occupational Licensing (within the past
3 years), please complete Question #2 on the Personal History Questionnaire (OL 29) and do not complete the
Request For Live Scan Service.
Fingerprint Card,ADM 1316
A fingerprint card must be submitted for out-of-state applicants only. Fingerprint cards may be obtained by calling
Occupational Licensing at (916) 229-3126 or contacting your local Inspector. Fingerprints must be taken at a local
law enforcement agency either the Police Department or Sheriff’s Office.
WHERE TO FILE YOUR APPLICATION:
Submit the required fees, forms, and documents to your local Inspector (this can be done at the time of exam). To
ensure an Inspector will be available to assist you, please call for an appointment. Detailed office information is
available at www.dmv.ca.gov/fo/inspector_office.htm.
TIME REQUIRED TO ISSUE THE LICENSE:
Upon receipt of a complete application for a license which is accompanied with the appropriate fee, the department
shall, within 120 days, make a thorough investigation of the information contained in the application (11704(b)
A complete application is one that contains all the necessary completed forms (e.g., documents, bond, letters
of authorization, signatures, fees, etc.), as required for the issuance of a license. Incomplete applications will be
returned to the applicant for correction and/or deiciency(ies).
Permits and supplies to operate will be issued by an Inspector only after all requirements are fulilled, the background
check performed is clear, and your location has been inspected and approved.
The purpose of an abbreviated application is to allow applicants with convictions, prior departmental actions,
business bankruptcies, and/or outstanding civil judgments related to the automobile industry, to discover if a license
will be issued or reissued without incurring the possible unnecessary expenses of obtaining a bond, establishing a
place of business, and/or attending a dealer education program.
To expedite the review process, applicants with convictions may submit certiied copies of the arresting agencies
report and the court documents with their application.
An abbreviated application must be submitted to determine your eligibility for a license.
An abbreviated application consists of the following fees and documents:
• $175 Nonrefundable application fee
• $ 1 Family Support Program Fee
• OL 12, Application for Original Occupational License (Part C)
• OL 21A, Original Application for Occupational License (Part A)
• OL 29, Personal History Questionnaire (Part B)
• ADM 1316 Fingerprint Card (out-of-state applicants only).
• DMV 8016 Request For Live Scan Service (receipt).
If you are considering submitting an abbreviated application, contact the Occupational Licensing Inspector in your
area for assistance.
DEALER EDUCATION PROGRAM
Applicants applying for a used dealer or dealer-wholesale only must attend a dealer education program and pass a
written examination administered by the Department of Motor Vehicles before submitting their application (11704.5
The purpose of this program is to ensure that applicants are aware of the laws and regulations governing the
operation of a used vehicle dealership in California.
• What is a Dealer Education Provider?
A dealer education program provider is a private vendor who has been authorized by the DMV to instruct
potential applicants for a used vehicle dealer license on laws and regulations governing the operation of a used
vehicle dealership in California. Dealer Education Provider’s are listed on our website at:
• Who is required to successfully complete a dealer education program?
− Sole owner
− All partners who manage the business
− A corporate officer who manages the business
• Who is not required to successfully complete a dealer education program?
− A person applying for a new vehicle dealer’s license or any employee of that dealer.
− A person who holds a valid license as an automobile dismantler, an employee of that dismantler, or an
applicant for an automobile dismantler’s license.
− A person applying for a motorcycle only dealer’s license or any employee of that dealer.
− A person applying for a trailer only dealer’s license or any employee of that dealer.
− A person applying for an all-terrain only dealer’s license or any employee of that dealer.
• Where do I go after I successfully complete the dealer education class?
After successfully completing the class you will be issued a completion certiicate. You must contact a DMV
Inspector in your area to take the test. The test consists of 40 questions and must be passed with at least 70%
For testing appointments and information regarding a dealer’s license, please call one of the Inspectors in your
You must present your original completion certiicate, issued by the provider, and your current California driver’s
license or California identiication card to take the test.
NOTE: Completion certiicates issued for completion of approved dealer education programs will be valid for
submission with new dealer license applications for a period of only one year from the date of program completion
(268.08[b] CA Code of Regulations).
• Is there a charge to take the test?
Yes, you will be charged $16 to take the test. If you do not pass, you may retake the test after a seven (7) day
waiting period.You will be charged $16 each time the test is taken.
• What if I can’t pass the test?
If, after three attempts, you cannot pass the test, you will be referred to the education provider listed on your
completion certiicate to determine if additional training is needed.
• Can I submit my application before attending the dealer education class?
Applications for a used vehicle dealer’s license will not be accepted by the department without proof of completion
of the used dealer education program and proof of successfully passing the examination or proof of being
licensed as a vehicle dealer within the past 36 months.
• Where can I obtain application forms?
You may call at (916) 229-3126 or download the application from the Internet at www.dmv.ca.gov